High school leaders will learn about city government,
voice issues impacting communities
Houston — Mayor Sylvester Turner administered the oath of office to 20 high school students appointed to the Mayor’s Youth Council at an inauguration ceremony held on September 28 in the City Hall council chambers. In attendance were students’ family members, City officials, and staff.  Established in 1998, the MYC provides youth the opportunity to learn about city government, share issues of concern with city officials, and gain civic leadership skills through community service activities. The council is modeled after the elected City Council, with members representing all single-member and at-large districts.
Pictured: New members of the Mayor’s Youth Council, Mayor Sylvester Turner and Department of Neighborhoods staff.

“Congratulations to the newest members of the Mayor’s Youth Council representing our diverse communities,” said Mayor Turner. “It’s inspiring to see the City’s future leaders stepping up and taking an active role in shaping the destiny of this great city.  Your commitment to civic engagement gives me great hope for our future.”
“Civic action vitalizes and empowers communities and gives people a voice in neighborhood and government affairs,” said TaKasha Francis, director of the Department of Neighborhoods.  “We’re excited to work with our young aspiring leaders to provide them the opportunity to voice issues of greatest concern to youth, learn about local government from City officials and staff, and become involved in leadership-building public service.”
Mayor’s Youth Council members take
the oath of office, administered by Mayor Turner. 
The MYC members were selected from of pool of nearly 120 applicants comprised of students ages 14-18 who live and attend high schools in Houston. The members were chosen through a competitive application and interview process conducted by a selection committee. The MYC annual term of office runs from September to June.

Alexavier Mendoza (center), MYC 2022-2023 chair,
passes the gavel to new chair Michael Hamad.
Mayor’s Youth Council 2023-2024
Michael Hamad, Chair, Senior, Lamar High School, District H
Jeremy Tu, Vice-Chair, Senior, Memorial Senior High School, District G
Alexavier Mendoza, Chief of Staff, Senior, iSchool Virtual Academy, District E
Jhoseline Escamilla, Council Aide, Senior, Yes Prep Southwest Secondary, District K
Saheb Nibber Saheb, Senior, Awty International High School, District A
Beverly Santas, Senior, Houston Heights High School, District B
Taylor Zhang, Senior, The Village High School, District C
Joriaun Clemons, Senior, DeBakey HS, District D
Minasha Gunarathna, Senior, Clear Lake High School, District E
Bella Kalra, Freshman, The Kinder HS for Performing & Visual Arts, District F 
Advika Sadasivan, Senior, The Village School, District G
Lance Williams, Senior, Carl Wunsche High School, District H
Anayansi Pena, Senior, DeBakey High School, Council District I
Audrey Han, Junior, Bellaire High School, District J
Hannah Washington, Senior, Lamar High School, District K
Marley Brailey, Freshman, St. John’s High School, At-Large 1
Aryan Shah, Junior, The Village High School, At-Large 2
Takori Bradford, Freshman, The Kinkaid School, At-Large 3
Suhurrith Adhikari, Sophomore, Carnegie Vanguard High School, At-Large 4
Christopher McCord, Sophomore, St. John’s High School, At-Large 5
The MYC is administered by the Office of Neighborhood Engagement, a division of the Department of Neighborhoods.  For more information about the MYC, visit or call 832-393-1061.
Evangelina Vigil
Public Information Officer
Office: 832.393.0832
Mobile: 281.904.3015